It’s always fun to see what names are eligible for making the final cut to get into the National Soccer Hall of Fame. The latest group of names are released, so let’s take a look.

Of the 174 people named, 40 are on the Player Eligibility List, 96 are on the Veteran Eligibility List and 38 are on the Builder Eligibility List.

The Hall of Fame’s Screening Committees will narrow the Player, Veteran and Builder ballots before they and other members of the Voting Committees vote on the Final Ballot, electing a maximum of six new Hall of Fame members. As many as three Players and two Veterans can be selected, along with one Builder.

Player Eligibility List

The Player Screening Committee will be responsible for narrowing the 40-person list to a 20-person final ballot for the 2024 election.

Players in their first year of eligibility are:

  • Kyle Beckerman — 58 games for the U.S. Men’s National Team
  • Laurent Ciman — Six seasons in Major League Soccer with one Best XI selection
  • Tim Howard — 10 seasons in Major League Soccer with two Best XI selections, 121 games for the U.S. Men’s National Team
  • Fabian Johnson — 57 games for the U.S. Men’s National Team
  • Diana Matheson — Five seasons in the National Women’s Soccer League with one Best XI selection
  • Ike Opara — 11 seasons in Major League Soccer with two Best XI selections
  • Luis Robles — Nine seasons in Major League Soccer with one Best XI selection
  • Danny Williams — 23 games for the U.S. Men’s National Team

The eligibility list also includes 14 finalists who return from the 2023 election: Lori Chalupny, Dwayne DeRosario, Maurice Edu, Thierry Henry, Eddie Johnson, Keith Johnson, Jermaine Jones, Shalrie Joseph, Robbie Keane, Lori Lindsey, Josh McKinney, Oguchi Onyewu, Nick Rimando and Cat Reddick Whitehill.

Along with Henry, Eddie Johnson, Lindsey and McKinney, John Ball and Stuart Holden are in their final year of eligibility on the Player ballot. If not elected, they would move to the Veteran Eligibility List for the 2025 election.

Veteran Eligibility List

The Veteran Screening Committee will reduce the 96-person list to a 10-person final ballot through a two-step screening process.

The list includes 11 people who are appearing on the Veteran Eligibility List for the first time and three who have been restored to the list via appeal.

Those appearing on the Veteran Eligibility List for the first time are Chris Albright, David Beckham, Danny Califf, Joe Cannon, Brian Ching, Tina Frimpong Ellertson, Eddie Gaven, Amado Guevara, Kevin Hartman, Pablo Mastroeni and Leslie Osborne. Those reinstated to the Veteran list are Stacey Enos, Lisa Gmitter and Alan Mayer.

The 2023 Veteran finalists who return to the eligibility list are Chris Armas, Chico Borja, Mary Harvey, Frankie Hejduk, Clint Mathis, Shep Messing, Tony Sanneh and Tisha Venturini-Hoch.

Builder Eligibility List

Builders are considered in three categories: referees, coaches and contributors. Based on the Builder rotation established in 2020, only contributors will be considered for the 2024 Builder Final Ballot.

The Builder Screening Committee will narrow the list of 38 contributors to a four-person final ballot through a two-step process.

To qualify for consideration in this category, an individual must have left a distinct mark on soccer in a non-playing capacity and demonstrated a substantial, enduring and positive influence on the sport within the United States at the national or first-division professional level. Eligible candidates must be at least 50 years old and have demonstrated their significant contribution for a minimum of 10 years.

Certain restrictions apply to eligibility: Elected officials and full-time employees of the USSF or the National Soccer Hall of Fame are excluded while holding their positions, and individuals listed on the suspended rosters of FIFA, CONCACAF, the USSF, Pro Leagues, the IOC, the NCAA or the USOPC are also ineligible.

In the case of the contributor category, individuals must have retired from their roles within the U.S. Soccer membership for a period of three calendar years or be deceased. Notably, exceptions to this requirement are extended to contributors who have been featured on the NSHOF Builder Semifinal ballot and/or the NSHOF Builder Final ballot since 2019. Additional exceptions can be made as determined by the NSHOF Board of Directors.

More Information
Complete information about the election and eligibility procedures is available online at The election process is administered by National Soccer Hall of Fame staff under election and eligibility guidelines established by the Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

List of Eligible Player Candidates
List of Eligible Veteran Candidates
List of Eligible Builder Candidates
List of 2024 NSHOF Selection Committee Members

Categories: Soccer